The Boys’ Brigade (B. B.) was founded on 4th October, 1883 at the International level by the late Sir William Alexander Smith in Glasgow, Scotland. It is the first uniformed Youth Organization.

From available records, the Boys’ Brigade, 16th Ibadan Company was inaugurated in October, 1968. The company started at St. Anne’s Church with some young boys attending the Sunday school under the supervision of late Prince Soji Anjorin. The pioneer members of the company are: Messrs Bolajoko Ogunkoya, Jide Oduba, Bisi Adeyemi, Seye Okeowo, Muyiwa Faleye, and Seun Faleye.

Through the years, the B. B. of St. Anne’s Church, Ibadan, had continued to wax strong and has remained the Headquarters of Ibadan South Battalion Council of the Boy’s Brigade, Nigeria. The Battalion has about 26 companies from various denominations since year 2000 till date. The present Captain, Mr. T. A. Adewole was the pioneering president between 2000 and 2005. He was also elected as the first Chairman/Coordinator of all B. B. Companies in the Diocese during the inauguration of Boys’ Brigade in the Anglican Communion (ACB) by the Archbishop of Ibadan Province, Most Rev. (Dr.) Joseph Akinfenwa in the year 2008, a position he holds till date.

The company has represented the Zonal Council of Oyo, Ondo, Ogun, Osun and Ekiti States for four years consecutively (i.e. 1995-1999) at the zonal competitions of Bible knowledge and drill which took place in Ekiti State and it came first. The company also came first for 10 consecutive years (1998-2008) in the Boys’ Brigade Fund Raising Week Activities and won the coveted Christian Council of Nigeria (CCN) trophy throughout the federation for bringing in highest collection.

Today, it can be said that the company has come of age with a resolve to entrench Godly attributes in the lives of young boys through regular Bible study classes, Christian education, involvement in various aspects of church festivals, skills to encourage youth self-reliance and Sunday school co-ordination. The B. B. holds its meeting every Saturday by 5.00 p.m within the church premises.

The history of the Boys’ Brigade at St. Anne’s Church will not be complete without making mention of the following people: Rt. Rev. (Dr.) and Mrs. Emmanuel Gbonigi, Late Ven. T. A. Adara, Late Prince Soji Anjorin, Mrs. Clementina Adara, Mr. John Ajilore, Mr. Gabriel Ademuyisan, Late Otunba Z. A. Koya and Hon Justice M. O. Onalaja. They contributed in various ways to the growth and development of the 16th Ibadan Company.